+372 645 4044

Travel tips and facts

Passport, visa regulations, border crossing & customs

Passport and Visa Regulations

Nationals of the member states of EU and EEA: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Finland, France, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands, United Kingdom or Switzerland are free to enter Estonia. Required travel document for them to enter Estonia is personal ID card or passport. The bases for their stay in Estonia is regulated by the Citizen of European Union Act.

The holders of passports of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Estonia for stays of no more than three months in a 6 month period: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Holy See, Honduras, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Israel, Japan, Macao Special Administrative Region, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, South Korea, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela. The holders of passport of South Africa can enter Estonia if they hold a visa for Latvia or Lithuania.

Non-citizens holding the alien’s passports of Latvia and Lithuania may stay visa-free in Estonia for 30 days at a time and for altogether 90 days a year. The holders of the diplomatic passports of Bosnia and Herzegovina, as well as of Serbia and Montenegro may stay visa-free in Estonia for up to 90 days within six months.

The holders of the diplomatic and service passports of Macedonia may stay visa-free in Estonia for up to 90 days within six months. The holders of the diplomatic passports of Turkey and Ukraine may stay visa-free in Estonia for up to 30 days within six months.

Citizens of countries NOT mentioned above require a visa to enter Estonia.

Source: Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Border Crossing Points

The biggest land crossing points in Estonia are located in Narva and Luhamaa (Russian border) and Ikla and Valga (Latvian border). Border crossing are open 24 hours a day. Further information about border crossing can be found at Estonian Border Guard.

Customs Regulations

Customs regulations and the list of goods allowed to be brought into Estonia can be found at Estonian Tax and Customs Board.

Estonian Embassies and Consular Services and Foreign Representations in Estonia

Information about Estonian embassies and foreign representations in Estonia can be found at Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

A beautiful, new and clean bus. A good price and a very good location at the city centre. The rental complied with our request concerning the day they were closed for a public holiday.
Tarmo R - Estonia
Find and book a car